Illinois Quad

the ben farber memorial scholarship was created by Benjamin’s family in tribute to the late Benjamin James Gawrys Farber. As a writer and journalist, Ben was often published in both the DeKalb High School and Kishwaukee Community College newspapers. Ben wrote with an enthusiasm and insight that was unique for a writer of his age, and after high school Ben planned to pursue a degree in journalism.

This merit-based award is given to an incoming freshman journalism student in the College of Media at the University of Illinois with a passion for print journalism and demonstrated financial need.

Scholarship Recipient List: 

2014-15: Emily Scott

The 2014-2015 recipient is Emily Scott from Okaw Valley High School. Prior to starting at University of Illinois, Emily was a reporter at News Progress in Sullivan, IL. Emily is currently a staff writer at The Daily Illini.

2013-14: Angela Lavito

The 2013-2014 recipient is Angela Lavito from Lake Zurich High School. Angela is pursuing her Bachelor’s degree in News-Editorial Journalism, and is currently the Social Media Director for The Daily Illini.

2012-13: Lizandro Sanchez

We are very happy to announce that Lizandro Sanchez has been awarded the inaugural Ben Farber Memorial Scholarship! Lizandro hails from Lasalle, IL.